Pain Of Salvation - Remedy Lane Re_visited (Re_mixed & Re_lived)

PAIN OF SALVATION “Remedy Lane Re:visited (Re:mixed & Re:lived)”

Band :
Title : Remedy Lane Re:visited (Re:mixed & Re:lived)
Release Date : 1. July 2016
Label :
Format : CD

Sweden’s Pain of Salvation are likely the very opposite of a predictable and standardized act and have oftentimes in their 25-year spanning career proved their point to full attention. And they once more prove their unmatched reputation as true artists, modern rock expressionists as well as progressive metal pioneers by re-visiting their 2002 album masterpiece “Remedy Lane”.

Following up their latest studio releases “Road Salt One” (2010) and “Road Salt Two” (2011) as well as the acoustic album “Falling Home” (2014), Pain of Salvation are looking back to their much acclaimed “Remedy Lane” epos and offering a new shape for the ground-breaking and genre-bending material it contains. Always eager to improve the album’s character, Pain of Salvation’s Daniel Gildenlöw recently teamed up with old companion and mixing engineer wizard Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Symphony X, Devin Townsend, Haken, etc.) for a new sonic take on the original recordings as well as its intense full-album live performance from ProgPower USA Festival 2014.

Daniel Gildenlöw further comments: “Jens Bogren, aka Fascination Street Studios, approached us a few years after the release of “Remedy Lane“, saying he was a fan of the band and kindly offered his services. He was later involved in “BE” and “Scarsick“, but always in the periphery, since we were taking new directions in our sound and production by then. His true strength lay in that impressive wall-of-sound type production that we had been aiming for with“ The Perfect Element“ and “Remedy Lane“, and I always wondered how those albums would have sounded in the care of his skillful hands. Maybe it was time to  find out?“

Both these “Remedy Lane” recordings are now available either together as 2CD Digipak or individually as 2LP+CD or Digital Download versions. The release is now correspondingly entitled “Remedy Lane Re:visited (Re:mixed & Re:lived)” and comes with revised artwork and expanded booklet design, including extensive liner-notes by Daniel Gildenlöw.

And to quote Daniel Gildenlöw again: “And so, as we open the doors to this treasure vault, only this remains to be said: A certain fraction of our fans tirelessly keep asking us for “another Remedy Lane”. Of course. So: here you are, you’re welcome. It’s almost exactly like Remedy Lane!”

The release also helps pave the way for Pain of Salvation’s 2016 return into the spotlight, as the band is currently working on a new, heavier studio album entitled “In The Passing Light Of Day”, expected to be released later in the year via longtime label-partner InsideOutMusic. But for now, prepare yourself for another walk down “Remedy Lane”.

Pain of Salvation 2001 (Original album):
Daniel Gildenlöw – Vocals, Guitars, Backing
Vocals, Percussion, Additional Keyboards
Johan Hallgren – Guitars
Fredrik Hermansson – Keyboards
Kristoffer Gildenlöw – Bass
Johan Langell – Drums

Pain of Salvation 2014 (Live album):
Daniel Gildenlöw – Vocals, Guitars
Ragnar Zolberg – Guitars, Vocals
Daniel “D2” Karlsson – Keyboards
Gustaf Hielm – Bass, Vocals
Léo Margarit – Drums, Vocals

“Remedy Lane Re:mixed”
1. Of Two Beginnings (Remix)
2. Ending Theme (Remix)
3. Fandango (Remix) (05:51)
4. A Trace Of Blood (Remix)
5. This Heart Of Mine (I Pledge) (Remix)
6. Undertow (Remix)
7. Rope Ends (Remix)
8. Chain Sling (Remix)
9. Dryad Of The Woods (Remix)
10. Remedy Lane (Remix)
11. Waking Every God (Remix)
12. Second Love (Remix)
13. Beyond The Pale (Remix)

“Remedy Lane Re:lived”
1. Remedy Lane (Live)
2. Of Two Beginnings (Live)
3. Ending Theme (Live)
4. Fandango (Live)
5. A Trace Of Blood
6. This Heart Of Mine (I Pledge) (Live)
7. Undertow (Live)
8. Rope Ends (Live)
9. Chain Sling (Live)
10. Dryad Of The Woods (Live)
11. Waking Every God (Live)
12. Second Love (Live)
13. Beyond The Pale (Live)